After you build the content of a course, package the course. Packaging publishes the course and makes it visible to your learners on the front end of your Classroom site.
On this page
Packaging a course
- Go to Store > Packages.
- Select Add Package.
- Enter a package name and complete the settings described in the table that follows.
- Select Save.
| Setting | What to do |
|---|---|
| Subscription Description | Optional. Enter a description if you want one. |
| Duration | Required. The default value is 00:00:00. When the value is zero, no duration displays on the front end. |
| Active | Select the checkbox to publish the package when you save. To remove the package from the front end later, clear the checkbox. To make the package active for a set time, enter dates and times in From and To. |
| Registration and Visible only upon distribution | Skip both sections. |
| Courses | Select the course or courses to publish into the package. A package can have a single course or multiple courses. |
| Level | Optional. Select how to distinguish the package content for learners. The built-in levels are Beginner, Standard, Advanced, and Expert. Or create a custom level, such as Webinar, Podcast, or Introduction. |
| Summary visible for all | Select this option to show the package on the front end regardless of group and permission settings. Visitors see all of your offerings, but gain access only to the packages that they have permission for through groups. |
| Groups | Select the group or groups that can access the package. Learners in the selected groups can access the learning material. These might be association members, as opposed to non-members. They might also be people who paid for the course through an AMS form or your own standalone payment processor. Skip Guest login. |
| Tags | Optional. Type any tags to include for the package. Tags display with the package on the front end and are searchable within your courses. After you create a tag by typing it, it is stored and appears in a dropdown, so it can be reused on other packages. |
Removing packages from the front end
Hiding a package
To remove a package from public view without deleting it:
- Go to Store > Packages.
- Select the name of the package.
- Clear the Active checkbox.
The package is removed from public view but stays intact, so it can be reused later.
Deleting or archiving a package
To get rid of a package that is old, outdated, or no longer necessary, delete it or archive it. You see the delete option if you created a package that no accounts have accessed. If any accounts have accessed the package through the front end, you see the yellow archive button instead. Archiving acts as a deletion of the package from the page, so the package is no longer viewable.
To archive a package, first make it inactive: select the package, clear the Active checkbox, then select Save.